McGowan wants repercussions after tunnel incident
ADELAIDE United defender Dylan McGowan says Brisbane Roar assistant coach Ross Aloisi should be brought to task if found to have assaulted Adelaide assistant coach Jacobo Ramallo.
Aloisi is being investigated by Football Federation Australia chiefs after allegedly assaulting Ramallo after Sunday's game between the clubs at Coopers Stadium.
The brother of Roar coach John Aloisi allegedly struck Ramallo in the back while in the tunnel exiting the arena after the Roar's controversial last-gasp loss.
Ramallo is understood to have dropped to the floor after the blow which happened minutes after Brisbane conceded a controversial penalty and lost the game 2-1.
The FFA was on Monday considering reports into the incident from the match commissioner and both clubs.
McGowan, who was caught in the face by an elbow from Roar goalkeeper Michael Theo, which led to the late penalty from which the Reds won the game, says there should be repercussions.
McGowan pointed out he didn't see the incident, or personally know who was involved but told reporters: "We are trying to market the game here in Australia and all these sort of incidents bring negative light to the game which is unfortunate.
"I don't know who was involved so I can't be saying that they (the FFA) need to come down on whatever it is.
"I'm sure that they're looking into it.
"And, to be honest, the Adelaide tunnel has got plenty of people in it so someone has seen it.
"And there will be hopefully repercussions if there was something done wrong. Hopefully there's repercussions for it because it was something we don't want to see in the game.”
The Roar released a statement late Sunday night saying they would co-operate with the FFA.
Brisbane refuses to comment further "until speaking to those involved and a thorough investigation is concluded”, the statement said.
The incident happened after Roar players and officials were angry at losing following the late penalty decision.
Theo was also controversially sent off for the incident with McGowan before Adelaide's Sergio Cirio scored a 98th-minute penalty to deliver the Reds a win.
John Aloisi was disappointed with the performance of referee Stephen Lucas.
"In my opinion he clearly got the decision (to award the Reds a penalty) wrong,” Aloisi said.
"I don't even think it was a red card because he was trying to shrug him off, but if he's hit him, he's hit him, but it was a clearly a foul on Theo.
"If he's going to send Theo off, then it should be the free kick is for us for McGowan holding on to Theo and the red card goes to Theo, if he believes it's a red card.
"He (Lucas) has got it wrong.”