ROLLING COVERAGE: Maryborough candidates meet in Howard

Candidates are meeting in Howard.
Candidates are meeting in Howard. Brett Wortman

6.55PM:  Tim Thornton from Friends of the Burrum has asked the candidates whether they support the construction of a bridge over the Burrum River.

Independent Roger Currie said he would not support the issue until the sewerage issue in Howard was sorted out.

Mr Saunders said he could better spend the money on improving roads in the Maryborough electorate, saying he couldn't support "a silly bridge that saves 15 minutes on the road to Bundaberg."

Mr Hansen said it was "not the most important issue" for the electorate.

6.40PM: One attendee has asked the council for their thoughts on fracking in the electorate.

One Nation candidate James Hansen said there was no place for non-conventional gas extraction in Queensland.

Mr Hansen said he had been fighting for many years to have the Fraser Coast declared 'frack free' for years.

Independent Roger Currie said he would consider bringing up a private members bill to make the area CSG and fracking free if elected.

'6.30PM: THE first of the region's Meet the Candidates sessions is underway at the Burrum District Community Centre in Howard.

Maryborough candidates Bruce Saunders (Labor), Richard Kingston (LNP), James Hansen (One Nation) and Roger Currie (Independent) are addressing voters over their plans to improve the Maryborough electorate if they are elected on November 25.


Greens candidate Craig Armstrong is not in attendance.

More to come.

Topics:  fcelection maryborough qldelection2017

M'boro candidates awaiting election results

Maryborough's state candidates at the Burrum District Community Centre in Howard.

Voting has finished and now the candidates are awaiting results.

OPINION: Now the campaign is over, the real test will begin

What we need now is a leader who isn't going to forget about us.

LIVE: Labor, One Nation in tight battle for Maryborough

Hervey Bay Chamber of Commerce meet the candidates forum, Aquavue - Adrian Tantari (Labor), Jenni Cameron (Greens), Ted Sorensen (LNP), Damian Huxham (One Nation) and Jannean Dean (Independant).

Rolling coverage from the 2017 state election.

Local Partners