Opinion

Wed 21 Aug 2019

'Absurd' Imbil forestry plan would decimate industry

premium_icon 'Absurd' Imbil forestry plan would decimate industry

Gympie MP calls plan architects and other environmentalists "ideological, left wing, green zealots”

Tue 20 Aug 2019

How phone addiction in children is like drug abuse

premium_icon How phone addiction in children is like drug abuse

More and more parents are now living in fear about the violence their children are displaying thanks to screen addiction. We need a plan of action before it’s too...

Barnaby Joyce’s gobsmacking hypocrisy

Barnaby Joyce’s gobsmacking hypocrisy

Australia has put up with a lot from Barnaby Joyce in the past three years — but last night he crossed a line that has women in NSW raging.

RACISM: Dummies guide to intolerance

premium_icon RACISM: Dummies guide to intolerance

Ever wondered where you fit into Australia's racist culture? Try this 25 point checklist and find out where you sit

Grandparents stepping back can help kids in parenting role

premium_icon Grandparents stepping back can help kids in parenting role

We have a lot we can teach grandkids and most of us look forward to that, but we shouldn't lose sight of the lessons our own children need to learn.

Mon 19 Aug 2019

Block scene that is ‘never, ever OK’

Block scene that is ‘never, ever OK’

Outrageous confrontations are nothing new for reality TV, but last night The Block’s Tess crossed a line — and we should all be raging.

Sun 18 Aug 2019

The act that would be called ‘rape’

The act that would be called ‘rape’

An act that would be called “rape” in some Australian states is called “maintaining a sexual relationship” in others.

Annoying plan behind topless Martha pic

Annoying plan behind topless Martha pic

A topless photo of MAFS star Martha is the latest step in an irritating plan. And it’s part of a growing trend, writes James Weir.

Fri 16 Aug 2019

Prosecco is just the tip of the EU trade war iceberg

premium_icon Prosecco is just the tip of the EU trade war iceberg

In pursuing a free trade deal with the EU, Australia has to stand tall and refuse to give into ridiculous demands that artificially favour foreign farmers.

Thu 15 Aug 2019

Never mind China, Australia needs to fight for own freedoms

premium_icon Never mind China, Australia needs to fight for own freedoms

Democracy and free press can't be taken for granted.

Why are we celebrating a milk crate when a woman is dead?

premium_icon Why are we celebrating a milk crate when a woman is dead?

All I could think about as I read the news stories was the young woman who had lost her life.

Wed 14 Aug 2019

‘I was a part of the Instagram problem’

premium_icon ‘I was a part of the Instagram problem’

One of the original social media influencers has had a change in heart after taking a step back and realising it was creating problems.

Mal: Imagine it was your kid facing bigotry

premium_icon Mal: Imagine it was your kid facing bigotry

In his most impassioned column yet, rugby league legend MAL MENINGA takes aim at the gutless racists who spew their vile thoughts of social media.

Just one question left: What was Gladys thinking?

premium_icon Just one question left: What was Gladys thinking?

Why the Premier rammed through a radical abortion bill introduced by a left-wing independent makes no sense. But she’ll pay the price, writes Miranda Devine.

How ice addicts have overtaken street

premium_icon How ice addicts have overtaken street

A daytime stroll down this street is almost certain to be interrupted by ice addicts. It’s time to consider radical solutions to stamp the problem out.

Australia, we need to confront our milk crisis

premium_icon Australia, we need to confront our milk crisis

As Queenslanders from across the state pile in to the Ekka, we ought to take a minute to remember just how many of our dairy farmers are hurting.

Tue 13 Aug 2019

When it's time for mumma's tantrum

premium_icon When it's time for mumma's tantrum

Is it only through their long-suffering parents that children learn to recognise when they're pushing someone too far?

China will be Morrison’s greatest leadership test

premium_icon China will be Morrison’s greatest leadership test

MP Andrew Hastie was right when he declared meeting the rise of China to be one of the greatest challenges Australia now faces, writes Renee Viellaris.

Labor continues to ignore what free speech really means

premium_icon Labor continues to ignore what free speech really means

The Australian left continues to make a self-righteous fool of itself yet again, writes Caroline Marcus.

The pros and cons of an automatic-only licence

The pros and cons of an automatic-only licence

Many parents used to insist their learner driver son or daughter get a manual licence.

Newer Older