Letters to the Editor

Tue 2 Jul 2019

New fine will be 'instant penance' for drivers

premium_icon New fine will be 'instant penance' for drivers

SEVEN years ago, when first living in Toowoomba, my wife and I were impressed at how spiritual the drivers seem to be here.

Mon 1 Jul 2019

If we stopped eating meat, would it really reduce emissions?

premium_icon If we stopped eating meat, would it really reduce emissions?

If we all stop slaughtering cattle and sheep in Australia based on today’s numbers, we'd have in excess of 26 million cattle to feed and 70 million sheep.

Mon 24 Jun 2019

Reader: Freedom of speech in the Folau Furore

premium_icon Reader: Freedom of speech in the Folau Furore

'Israel Folau is copping stick from some for seeking public donations - but this issue is bigger than just Folau'

Mon 17 Jun 2019

Harsher punishments needed for drug dealers and smugglers

premium_icon Harsher punishments needed for drug dealers and smugglers

Sending them to jail does no good, because when they get out they just re-offend. I think the punishment should be made to fit the crime.

Mon 10 Jun 2019

Worms, flies, maggots and crickets: Is this future lunch?

premium_icon Worms, flies, maggots and crickets: Is this future lunch?

WHAT would you like for lunch? Meal worms, flies, maggots or crickets? Yes, it’s true. They may well be the food of the future.

Mon 27 May 2019

Juvenile jail overcrowding 'the result of poor discipline'

premium_icon Juvenile jail overcrowding 'the result of poor discipline'

AUSTRALIA, open your eyes. The Four Corners program highlighted the result of years of turning a blind eye to proper discipline through parenting and schooling.

Sun 26 May 2019

Perrett retaliates after being called 'nong' by MP neighbour

premium_icon Perrett retaliates after being called 'nong' by MP neighbour

You know the Member is in strife when he resorts to petty name calling. It is the only thing he knows and this latest rant shows just how out of touch he is.

Thu 23 May 2019

There needs to be stricter laws on using gel blasters

premium_icon There needs to be stricter laws on using gel blasters

SO THERE’S now two reported incidents of gel blasters aimed at people. It makes one bristle at the thought of anyone’s eyes being damaged in any way.

Mon 20 May 2019

Why costs of not acting on climate change 'more concerning'

premium_icon Why costs of not acting on climate change 'more concerning'

At pre-polling in Toowoomba last week, this letter writer spoke to an LNP member who was concerned about how much acting on climate change will cost.

Mon 13 May 2019

'I have nightmares over the idea of Bill Shorten as PM'

premium_icon 'I have nightmares over the idea of Bill Shorten as PM'

"I OFTEN have nightmares about what will happen to Australia if the ALP wins this election."

Sun 12 May 2019

OPINION: I can do without watching a would-be PM cry

premium_icon OPINION: I can do without watching a would-be PM cry

I am not remotely interested in Mr Shorten's family, what his parents were or how they lived.

Fri 10 May 2019

‘This is what we feel when they walk out the door’

‘This is what we feel when they walk out the door’

"AS A partner of an interstate heavy vehicle driver my biggest fear every time he walks out the door is he won’t be coming home again."

Mon 6 May 2019

AN OPEN LETTER: If we kill the oceans we kill ourselves

premium_icon AN OPEN LETTER: If we kill the oceans we kill ourselves

An open letter to Australian politicians and councillors - you are missing one very important environmental policy in your election promises

Wed 1 May 2019

OPINION: Pro-coal loons convinced mine means prosperity

OPINION: Pro-coal loons convinced mine means prosperity

'There are a lot of people getting rich on the back of mining projects but it's almost never the people who live in the vicinity of them.'

Mon 8 Apr 2019

Chinese ute’s Ford Ranger copycat fail

Chinese ute’s Ford Ranger copycat fail

At first glance this looks like a Ford Ranger Wildtrak ute but there’s a major query on its build quality.

Mon 1 Apr 2019

Ensure you get what you pay for

Ensure you get what you pay for

A reader checked the vehicle identification number of his new ute — and discovered all was not as it seemed.

'Children used for political agenda' in protests

premium_icon 'Children used for political agenda' in protests

HAVE we lost the plot by supporting children protesting instead of going to school, to put it bluntly why would anyone support truancy?

Big W shows 'serious thought' needed before opening business

premium_icon Big W shows 'serious thought' needed before opening business

WOOLWORTHS is considering closing up to 40 Big Ws as they aren’t paying their way, or are under performing. Business is a tough, unforgiving world.

Wed 27 Mar 2019

Support traders or local businesses will face closure

premium_icon Support traders or local businesses will face closure

I'm appealing to all local residents to support local takeaways, bakeries and restaurants, or risk losing them.

Mon 25 Mar 2019

OPINION: Right to freedom of speech depends on who says it

premium_icon OPINION: Right to freedom of speech depends on who says it

LETTER: Take Pauline Hanson, for example. The moment she entered parliament she has been fair game for one and all.

Newer Older