Letters to the Editor

Fri 20 Apr 2018

Weed debate: '29,000 people in Toowoomba are stoners'

Weed debate: '29,000 people in Toowoomba are stoners'

The only thing pot is good for is eating pizza and watching The Simpsons.

Wed 18 Apr 2018

Comm Games closing ceremony 'embarrassing and disgusting'

Comm Games closing ceremony 'embarrassing and disgusting'

I trust that the closing ceremony which consisted mostly of insignificant small-time political garbage will be tossed into the trash bin of games history.

Thu 12 Apr 2018

Far from conclusive evidence of first Australian residents

Far from conclusive evidence of first Australian residents

To claim the present Aborigines are descendants of the first people to walk this land is folly and I believe the deliberate distortion of history.

Tue 10 Apr 2018

LETTERS: Republics end in disaster

LETTERS: Republics end in disaster

I'M NOT surprised that Prince Charles declined to address an Australian Republican Movement meeting.

'Finally some sense has come to Australian Cricket'

'Finally some sense has come to Australian Cricket'

FINALLY some sense has come to Australian Cricket. (And pigs might fly?)

Mon 9 Apr 2018

Resources boss says Bowen Basin gas exploration the Qld way

Resources boss says Bowen Basin gas exploration the Qld way

'SIGNIFICANT gas reserves' hold huge potential for sector which sustains one in eight Queensland jobs.

'We need to take responsibility in race debate'

'We need to take responsibility in race debate'

WE HAVE to take responsibility for our own ignorance and deal with it, before we can tell Aboriginal people what to do about improving their lives.

Sat 7 Apr 2018

Gympie horror at push for new coal fired generation

Gympie horror at push for new coal fired generation

Gympie Community Solar Association "horrified” some Australian politicians are pushing for new coal fired electrical generation

Thu 5 Apr 2018

LETTERS: Polls can't be trusted

LETTERS: Polls can't be trusted

I WAS wondering when we were going to be subjected to more rantings from the preachers of left-wing Labor/Green garbage.

Abbott haters deaf to good advice on energy

Abbott haters deaf to good advice on energy

TONY Abbott’s critics are right. He’s pushing this plan for more coal-fired electricity knowing it will hurt Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull.

Pension shock coming if Shorten holds the reins

Pension shock coming if Shorten holds the reins

TO THE pensioners and retirees I have one question to ask "Do you trust Bill Shorten with your retirement savings?”.

Wed 4 Apr 2018

Bullying is not normal behaviour, it's sickening nonsense

Bullying is not normal behaviour, it's sickening nonsense

IT IS a promising sign that young adults in high schools are taking responsibility for their peers and younger students in an attempt to stamp out bullying.

Tue 3 Apr 2018

Who is a serious replacement for Turnbull as the PM?

Who is a serious replacement for Turnbull as the PM?

If you think that Shorten is going to get into the Lodge, you are sadly mistaken.

Tue 27 Mar 2018

OPINION: Pension increase not worth celebrating

OPINION: Pension increase not worth celebrating

Rent or rates, insurance, rego, petrol, food, clothes and medical. We will stop there as there is lots more to pay and the $450 is GONE.

Mon 26 Mar 2018

More details emerge from Gympie's most horrific murder

premium_icon More details emerge from Gympie's most horrific murder

Former Gympie Ambulance Superintendent Ron Lawrence's wife Julia remembers the night her husband attended the scene of the Wolvi Lamb murders

Sun 18 Mar 2018

Schools battle violent home lives and disrespect for women

Schools battle violent home lives and disrespect for women

Letter: While suspension remains the main instrument of "discipline” in schools there is little likelihood that the situation will improve.

Tue 13 Mar 2018

Benefits of Hard Yakka and cashless card debate: Letters

Benefits of Hard Yakka and cashless card debate: Letters

THIS program has given many young folk the ability to respect themselves and others.

Bullying: why are we sending 12-year-olds to high school?

Bullying: why are we sending 12-year-olds to high school?

Is there a connection, asks this Gympie letter writer?

Sun 11 Mar 2018

LETTERS: Who is feeding our kids?

LETTERS: Who is feeding our kids?

WOULD someone please explain why schools are providing breakfasts for some pupils?

Fri 9 Mar 2018

Party houses are an ongoing nightmare

Party houses are an ongoing nightmare

This is about local residents unable to live in their own homes due to the relentless noise generated by thoughtless air BnB holiday-makers partying next door.

Newer Older