Letters to the Editor

Sat 28 Jul 2018

Drivers need to look for bikes

premium_icon Drivers need to look for bikes

Almost every day cyclists are abused, swerved at and even have had objects thrown at them.

Thu 26 Jul 2018

Bolt overlooks ABC's showcase of colourful Aussie characters

premium_icon Bolt overlooks ABC's showcase of colourful Aussie characters

He overlooks the ABC series Back Roads which reveals the wonderful, colourful characters who live in our widespread, diverse communities.

Don't make betting appear glamorous in ads

premium_icon Don't make betting appear glamorous in ads

Tell the truth about betting, don't make it glamorous when it isn't, and don't imply you will always win when you don't.

Farmers need more support to fight drought

premium_icon Farmers need more support to fight drought

Readers have their say on the need for drought aid for farmers.

Wed 25 Jul 2018

Russia must be held to account for role in plane disaster

premium_icon Russia must be held to account for role in plane disaster

MH17 was shot down over Ukraine with a Buk surface to air missile.

OPINION: Plastic bag ban won't save environment

OPINION: Plastic bag ban won't save environment

Letter writer Eloise Rowe says the "bag ban" has done very little for the environment, as it's impossible to remove all forms of plastic.

Mon 9 Jul 2018

OPINION: 30 priests did nothing to call out abuse

premium_icon OPINION: 30 priests did nothing to call out abuse

'1500 confessions to 30 priests over 25 years would suggest to me that the church is telling yet more lies' 

Wed 27 Jun 2018

Age not always the issue when it comes to driving

premium_icon Age not always the issue when it comes to driving

A TOOWOOMBA lawyer has made some good points about elderly drivers.

Tue 19 Jun 2018

How you can help homeless people in need

How you can help homeless people in need

WHEN you’re facing a huge energy bill, do you turn down the heating or do you go without meals?

Thu 14 Jun 2018

LETTERS: Should humans really be drinking milk?

LETTERS: Should humans really be drinking milk?

AFTER reading Julie McCullough's letter (NM, 05/06) Cow's milk is good, I thought I'd put in my five cents' worth.

Tue 12 Jun 2018

'A policy for investors': Short-term rental woes

premium_icon 'A policy for investors': Short-term rental woes

More short-term rental regulations needed: Yamba resident

Sat 9 Jun 2018

Extraordinary act of kindness in moment of need

Extraordinary act of kindness in moment of need

ALLOW me to tell you and your readers about an extraordinary act of kindness extended to me by a denizen of your city.

Fri 8 Jun 2018

Is it time to reclaim free speech?

Is it time to reclaim free speech?

EDITOR Steve Etwell penned: “Surely there are people out there with an opinion” (TC, 02/06).

Tue 22 May 2018

Bolt's way off the mark with wedding critique

premium_icon Bolt's way off the mark with wedding critique

Living in the present but acknowledging the past while looking towards the future is the only way forward.

Fri 18 May 2018

Cat left to die on suburban street

premium_icon Cat left to die on suburban street

I AM very annoyed with drivers around Toowoomba when they hit an animal on the road and continue driving as if it does not matter

Tue 15 May 2018

LETTERS: Standing by opinion on female commentators

LETTERS: Standing by opinion on female commentators

Letter writer Baron Large defends his stance against female NRL commentators.

Tue 1 May 2018

Why we must not have a repeat of Uber

Why we must not have a repeat of Uber

THE digital revolution has enhanced our lives in so many ways. But, as the world learned with Uber, eBay and Napster, these fabulous new services create problems...

Tue 24 Apr 2018

LETTER: Time for royal commission into fuel prices

LETTER: Time for royal commission into fuel prices

IF IT'S good enough for banking to face a Royal Commission then its time for those running the petrol industry to suffer the same scrutiny.

Mon 23 Apr 2018

Will solar panels be the pollution of the 2020s?

premium_icon Will solar panels be the pollution of the 2020s?

ONE must surely question the sincerity of our Mayor’s declaration that the soon-to-be-revamped Qld vegetation laws must not affect land for food production.

Fri 20 Apr 2018

Weed debate: '29,000 people in Toowoomba are stoners'

Weed debate: '29,000 people in Toowoomba are stoners'

The only thing pot is good for is eating pizza and watching The Simpsons.

Newer Older